In the Users and user rights (new) -view, you can specify the user rights of different users in the organization’s Procountor environment. You can also add new users to the Procountor environment and remove users from the environment.
This article explains how you can search for users based on their privileges, specify privileges for them and examine the user right change log.
You can find the view by selecting Management > Users and user rights (new) in the main menu.
- All users with viewing rights to the Users and user rights section can access the view.
- Editing privileges and browsing the user right change log require All rights to the Users and user rights section.
Users and rights (new)
The Users and user rights (new) -view is an updated version of the old Users and privileges view. Both the old and the new view will be available side-by-side during the transition period. The views are found in Management > Users and user rights (new) or Management > Users and privileges. You can use both views for adding new users and editing user rights and the edited information is updated in both views.
- New search criterion: Users can now be filtered based on privileges.
- Updates to the grouping of privileges:
- Privileges are grouped by topic, which makes it easier to see to which topic a specific user right is related to.
- User right limitations are moved under the group to which the access rights relates.
- New view for the user right change log. All the changes made to privileges can be found in the same view.
- The user roles or privileges of existing users have not been changed.
- Changes to user roles
- The Student and Accountant user roles will have All rights in the Payment function. Previously, these user roles had Viewing rights in the Payment function. The change takes effect only when setting up a new user or giving the role of Student or Accountant to an existing user.
You can search for users in the environment under Management > Users and privileges (new).
By default, the Procountor groups users by their user roles. You can remove the grouping clicking on the button next to the Group by user roles text.
Searching users by privileges
- First, select the privilege you wish to use as the search criterion on the user right drop-down menu.
- In the Access drop-down menu, specify which right the user must have to the privilege.
- The program automatically lists the users who meet your search criterion in the All users section
- You can select multiple privileges as your search criteria. The program automatically adds the new search criterion under the previous ones.
- To remove a search criterion, click on the cross button next to the criterion.
- Click on the Clear all filters criteria button to remove all your search criteria.
Editing User rights
- When you select a user on the left-hand side column, the user’s rights open on the right-hand side column.
- You can select an existing role for the user that will determine their user rights or you can specify individual user rights by selecting one of the following in the right-hand side drop-down menu of the privilege in question
- All rights
- Viewing rights
- No access
3. Save your changes by clicking on Save at the top.
Changing a user’s privileges within one Procountor environment will not affect their privileges in other environments in which they have access rights.
- Some of the user rights are mutually exclusive. The program will automatically prevent selecting access rights that would conflict with existing privileges.
- If an user right is related to a limitation, a question mark is shown after it. To see what the limitation applies to, hover your mouse on top of the question mark.
- The user rights related to the retrieval of purchase, travel and expense invoices and journal receipts are interrelated and cannot be specified separately. For example, if you grant a user all rights to search purchase invoices , the program automatically gives all rights to search and view travel and expense invoices and journal receipts.
User right limitations
Limitations are disabled by default, but they can be enabled to provide users with privileges that are more extended than those of the Personnel role, but more limited than full privileges.
Limitations appear under the group to which the user rights relates. For more information about the effect of the limitation, hover your mouse over the question mark next to it.
For example, you can grant user privileges to create and edit his or her own travel and expense invoices by selecting the option Access only travel & expense invoices created by user and by granting the user full rights to the Rights for travel & expense invoices and Search travel & expense invoices.
Copying user rights
You can also copy a user’s rights to other user(s).
- Select all the users to whom you wish to copy the rights in the Users column and the user whose rights you wish to copy.
- The users you selected in the Users column will appear in the User rights column on the right.
- Next, select the user whose access rights you wish to copy by checking the box in front of their name. Click on the Copy rights button to copy the user’s rights.
- Select the users to whom you wish to copy the rights and click on Paste rights.
Printing user information
To convert the names of environment users to printable form, right-click on the user list and select Export list of selected users, Excel, HTML or PDF.
You can convert the User rights to printable form by clicking on Export in the User rights section and selecting either Export Excel, Export HTML or Open PDF in the drop-down menu.
The file includes the information of all the selected users.
User change log
You can access the User change log from the top menu of the Users and user right (new) -view.
The User change log -view is only accessible to users with all rights to the users and user rights -section.
The change log shows all the changes made to the user’s privileges in the selected environment. You can also browse the privileges of deleted users.
The change log shows a summary of the change, i.e., when the privilege was changed, which user’s information was changed, what the action was and who made the change.
- The user change log can be exported in PDF, Excel or HTML format. Start by selecting the users whose data you wish to export and click on the Export PDF, Export HTML or Export Excel button at the top
You can see all the changes made to a user’s access rights by clicking on their name. The old value shows what the user’s previous user rights were, and the new value indicates the user’s new user rights.
- The change log can be exported in PDF, Excel or HTML format.